little busy bee…

february month is busy busy, this coming week I have 2 birthday girls right after each other, a “kaffemik” (a greenlandic celebration, I describe it later in this blog), birthday parties, dinners, a friend from Denmark staying at our place for some weeks when we make our Lego Serious Play workshop, a local carnival called “fastelavn” (which I describe in the next blog), plus I am finishing up some homemade gifts for the girls these days…

A little bedlinen set for my youngest girl…for a sweet doll…(the cat have been eating the nose of the doll), a slipover in beautiful dark warm colors for my eldest daughter…Homemade invitations with popcornbags for a movie birthday for a bunch of happy girls and then there will be a lot of cooking and baking…end of the month I think I will use some hours at the sofa…

“Kaffemik” is a local social gathering, where you will be met by tons of shoes in the hallway, the smell of reindeer meat and lots of cakes…a feeling of chaos because there is a buzz of people getting in and leaving…this is not about sitting for hours and talking, this is about celebrating all kinds of things, like first day of school when you are 6 years old, birthdays (like I will celebrate in a weeks time for my girls), confirmations, and so many other occassions…

We keep our celebration at home together with all we know and love, but also colleagues and new friends are welcome…the house is open, and the preparation have been going on for days…children are having their route between the cake table and the children’ s room. Besides lots of wonderful cakes, we usually serve muskox meat, fish soup, reindeer and lumpfish roe blinis…all kinds of specialities, and of course coffee…

“kaffemik” means literally “via coffee”…its an all day affair, and we invite by word of mouth and between friends, we have casual wear, but the Honoree wears national costumes at special occasions.. I will celebrate my girls getting 10 and 14 years old…

an-elderly-woman-at-a-kaffemik-laughing-and-enjoying-herself-1500x630

from visitgreenland.gl

and no shoes are welcome in the house, so the entrancehall is a mess of shoes…and even more tons of wintercloth…its wonderful! Like swimming in an ocean of cloth and shoes…

gk godt besøk2

Skriv en kommentar